Before I moved to Hawaii I had been running/working out quite a bit to get in shape. Don’t judge me, I thought I was going to be in a swimsuit 24/7, turns out, I have to go to work to pay for our place and groceries… so that doesn’t happen.

Anyways, I hadn’t been running for awhile due to the heat here this past summer but I have recently taken it up again. When I first got back into it it was HARD work, I mean, just getting up to one mile without stopping took me at least a month. My roommate and friend who has done races before started running with me and giving me pointers, which has helped a lot. I’ve even gotten to the point where I am researching constantly and listening to podcasts about running.

IMG_5530

Walking back from a run around Waimea Bay

I’m excited to report that we have signed up for a half marathon at the end of May! And to get ready we also signed up for a race that is 8 miles in the middle of February. I’m more excited to report that for the first time during a run I was able to hold a conversation without being completely winded and I felt great. The run was about 3 miles, and I didn’t start feeling amazing till the last half mile but I would say thats a good start! Cheers to sticking to a training schedule, we aren’t messing around!

IMG_5533

-doing things i’ve never done

