Let me just start by letting you know that I am not a morning person, I’m not super grumpy or anything but getting out of bed is hard work! The half marathon I am training for starts at 5 am… STARTS at 5:00 am, just in case you didn’t get the start part. Once a week, sometimes two, my roommate and I decided to get up at 4:30/4:45 am to run so we could be out the door by 5. YIKES! If it weren’t for my roommate there is no way I would get up, I would probably hit snooze twice and then shut my alarm off. Knowing that someone else is counting on me to get up and run helps a lot! What they say about running/working out with a partner is all true.. I don’t know that I would be as committed to this if it weren’t for her!

My favorite part about running is that the more I do it the easier it gets and I feel like I can accomplish anything! I am still doing 3 mile runs for the most part but I am stopping less and my time is improving a little bit each week. It is a little frustrating that it is taking me so long to get better at it but maybe that is what pushes me to work harder and keep at it. I also don’t get as many side aches as I used to when running, which helps me go further. My goal for this half is to finish and run 80-90% of the race with minimal walking. Can’t wait!

-doing things I’ve never done

