Today was a running day that tested me, I got up at 4:30 am ready to meet the roomie to run like we normally do and then she comes over and says she doesn’t feel good. This is the real test for me.. do I still run at 5 am by myself or go back to bed and wait for another day to run together? I ended up running and it felt super empowering to know that I had the willpower to go when it’s dark out even though I was on my own! Guess what, it turned out great. I felt great, I had no side aches, I wasn’t out of breath, and I ran 4 miles that felt like nothing.. could’ve gone further. I am so happy that we started getting up to run, there is something so simple about the world when it is quiet and dark. Don’t get me wrong.. if a car slowed down too much or there was someone in the road I got a little freaked out and the heart rate would spike.. but I lived!

We are almost 6 weeks into training for the half marathon, I have been running longer than that but as far as sticking to a training schedule it has been a little over 5 weeks. Last Sunday for our long run we did 7 miles, I don’t know if it was a mental thing or what but I gotta tell you, that was a very hard run for me. It was the first time I had ever run that far and it was a different route than we normally take but man, that first mile, I thought I was going to fall over. And after the run was over… dead. My legs, my body, if I would’ve let myself I could’ve gone back to bed for another couple hours. Normally after runs I am really awake and ready for the day, I don’t even need my coffee! (Till 2 in the afternoon of course) Either way, we are doing an 8 mile race in a little over two weeks, I am a little nervous for it! Wish me luck. 🙂

thumb_IMG_5783_1024

Above is proof that we have been working our butts off.. besides one little Friday run we missed. We had just gotten a new #Peloton stationary bike and burned ourselves out that week! Pulled this training schedule from this website that has info on training for a half. Great website, check it out.. I modified the training to fit our schedule but it really helps having something to look at.

-Doing things I’ve never done

