My first half marathon was a little over 3 weeks ago now and I am still super proud of myself for getting through it. Now comes the tough part though… my bestie and I are signed up for another half marathon at the end of May (Memorial day weekend). After a half marathon you would think that I would want to sit on my butt for a month straight but that couldn’t happen. We did take some rest days but because we have another half coming up we needed to start training again! I have already mentioned that I had quite the struggle towards the end of the 13 miles for the first one.. my knees didn’t want to work and I sort of wanted to throw up. Well, trying to run again after that wasn’t super pretty!

I tried to take it slow, I did one mile on the treadmill two different days the week after the half just to keep my legs moving and used to the “running motion.” Then that next Sunday (which is our long run day) we tried to do 7 miles..(I think). Oh man, my knees were feeling it, my lungs were feeling it… it seriously felt like I hadn’t run in months!! What gives??? Apparently that half marathon did more to my body than I thought it did!

Anyways, now that we are over 3 weeks out we are finally getting back to our normal running schedule! Three times a week, usually in the mornings and long runs on Sunday to make a grand total of 4 running days a week. (It’s also starting to feel normal again) Hopefully my next half goes a little better than my first half!!! Also… the bestie is trying to talk me into another one in November… help me!!!!! 🙂

IMG_6649

After our most recent run… this morning!! 🙂 

-Doing things I’ve never done

